for iOS and Android
[OKBOS is no longer available for download]

OKBOS turns classic books into word puzzles!

When you play OKBOS, you're reading a book while unscrambling portions of it sentence-by-sentence. Reconnect with an old favorite or discover a new one by playing any (or all!) of the following books included in OKBOS:

  • Alice's Adventure's in Wonderland
  • Through the Looking-Glass
  • Little Women
  • Sense and Sensibility
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Jane Eyre
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  • Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes
  • Frankenstein

Here's the first puzzle from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland:

The top of the screen shows the opening sentence from Lewis Carroll's classic book. A portion of the text has been blacked-out, as if by a censor’s pen.

Below that is the puzzle play area. It consists of five domino tiles oriented vertically.

Each domino tile has two letters on it, one on top of the other. Sometimes a domino has a space, or perhaps a comma on it.

Your goal is to recover the blacked-out text by rearranging these vertically-oriented dominos like so many 1×2 Scrabble tiles.

We almost have it... yes, the answer is BY HER SISTER

There, we’ve solved the first puzzle—the rest are up to you! Which book will you start with?

You might also enjoy OMBY: The Moby-Dick Unscrambling Game. Read Tim Cassedy’s superb review of OMBY on the Los Angeles Review of Books’s “Avidly” blog.

Do you have a question about OKBOS? Send email to